Advanced Seminar on Group Theory

Lehrstuhl für Algebra und Zahlentheorie

Sommersemester 2020


The seminar continues non-digitally at a new time and place:
Time/Date:
We meet weekly on Thursdays 10:30 - 12:00 in Lecture Hall 5E.
For details see schedule below.
Content:
Advanced topics in group theory are discussed in short series of talks and guest lectures.
Organizers:
Prof. Dr. Benjamin Klopsch, Moritz Petschick
See also:
Doctoral Research Seminar in Pure Mathematics

Talks

Topic: Solving Exercises posed by J.D. Dixon / Open choice of topics
Date Speaker Title
Tuesday 05.05.20
online!
Moritz Petschick There are no simple groups of order 300, 400 and 540
(= Problem 7.16)
Tuesday 12.05.20
online!
Benjamin Klopsch Frobenius' Theorem (vintage 1901)
Tuesday 19.05.20
online!
Karthika Rajeev On a conjecture arising from a theorem of Frobenius
Tuesday 26.05.20
online!
Zeynep Kisakürek A couple of words on irreducible characters around Exc. 11.30
Tuesday 02.06.20
online!
Djurre Tijsma On the simple groups PSL2(k)
Tuesday 09.06.20 at 16:00
online!
Luis Mendonca BNS invariants, wreath products and related topics
Thursday 18.06.20
Lecture Hall 5E
Benjamin Klopsch Strong conciseness in profinite groups
Thursday 25.06.20
Lecture Hall 5E
Pablo Cubides An introduction to ultraproducts for group theorists and related topics -- Part I
Thursday 02.07.20
Lecture Hall 5E
Pablo Cubides An introduction to ultraproducts for group theorists and related topics -- Part II
Thursday 09.07.20
Lecture Hall 5E
Moritz Petschick From finite groups to infinite torsion groups
Thursday 16.07.20
Lecture Hall 5E
TBA TBA

Archive


Responsibility for the web site: Benjamin Klopsch
© Copyright Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf  ♦  Imprint Privacy PolicyContact